Posted in Uncategorized

Same Life, New Hurdles

Here I am, 11 months later, back to writing on my blog. (OH MY GOODNESS, I’M BAD AT THIS!)

I guess I do have a pretty good excuse…

Willa Evelyn Irene, in all her 6 pound, 14 ounce glory, has wiggled her cute little way into my life, so I’ve been a busy little bee learning the ins and outs, ups and downs of motherhood.

Now, I can’t say I wasn’t at least seasoned somewhat since I did have a couple years experience having my stepdaughter. It’s so funny to me when we are out with Willa while Charlotte is with her mom and people walk up to us and say, “Oh honey, just you wait until she’s running around and talking! She’ll give you a run for your money”. I smile and laugh (because they are trying to be funny, after all), but in my head I’m saying, “Oh honey, I don’t gotta wait for nothin’, cause I’ve been there, done that!” Ha! I’m ready for Willa’s toddling years. I know what to expect, for the most part, as all children have different personalities and temperaments, but I get the gist of toddlers. This whole newborn/infant thing, however, has really been a very challenging, rewarding, and beautiful new experience for me. I think this is the biggest and most important thing I’ve ever done so far in my ordinary life. I look at my now (almost) 7 month old, 17 pound little ball of baby beauty and I think, “I made her and I helped her come this far and will continue to mold and shape her into something more beautiful every day”. I know that’s a huge load of mush and sap and tears, but that’s me. I finally get why sometimes moms can be labeled as “crazy”, because you develop this animal instinct that was never there before, and it can truly bring out the crazy in you! My kind of crazy and another person’s kind of crazy are probably drastically different, but it’s there any way you want to look at it.

My point in this particular entry (and not all of my entries are going to be about being a mom because that gets so old) is simply this: I’m proud I’m going through these things. I love experiencing this next step in my life as a wife, stepmom, and now, mom. It’s really hard sometimes, balancing a job, two kids and day to day crap that can be boring as hell, but it’s so wonderful that I can’t even describe it too. It’s awesome to see these kids grow up. My husband sent me a picture of Charlotte and Willa yesterday while I was at work and he had captioned it, “You’re my best friend, Willa”, which was what Charlotte had said and had prompted him to take the picture. I swear, I almost broke down in tears! (What else is new, right?) I thought that was the sweetest thing in the world that she loves her baby sister so much that the first thing she says when she comes back to our house is that she’s her best friend.

I need to end this now or my heart will explode, ha!

Until the next time…

Author:

Just an ordinary southwestern Ohio lady trying to blog!

Leave a Reply

